More than 200 MPs from various political parties — from both the Leave and Remain sides — have decided to “speak with one voice” to urge Theresa May to rule out a No-Deal Brexit.

• 212 MPs from five parties in Parliament have signed a letter to Theresa May urging her to rule out a No-Deal Brexit ahead of the crucial Meaningful Vote expected to take place next week.
• The group of MPs meets with the Prime Minister on Tuesday.
• The letter is backed by businesses and business organisations: the Confederation of British Industry, the Federation of Small Businesses, the manufacturers' organisation EEF, the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders, the chief executives of Airbus, Jaguar Land Rover, Ford and Rolls Royce.

Dear Prime Minister,

We the undersigned Members of Parliament, business leaders and representatives are writing to you about the threat that leaving the European Union without a deal poses to the manufacturing industry. Many of us represent constituencies with a significant manufacturing presence. Manufacturing plants employ thousands of our constituents and their jobs will be put at immediate risk if the United Kingdom leaves the European Union with no deal. We are acutely aware that 29th March is fast approaching.

The renaissance of manufacturing and its supply chains in this country, bolstered by demand for exports, has markedly improved the lives of our constituents. The principal market for these exports has been the European Union. The revival of the manufacturing industry has created innumerable jobs, not only via direct employment but also in the supply chain and ancillary services.

A whole generation of young people have had the opportunity to access world-class training and gone onto highly skilled and well paid employment in manufacturing with iconic, global and market-leading companies. As a result, the aspirations of a generation have been raised.

Leaving the EU without a deal would cause unnecessary economic damage. Trading on World Trade Organisation (WTO) terms would instantly make our manufacturers less competitive and make it very difficult for the industry to justify producing goods in the UK for export. Leaving without a deal would make continued investment in UK manufacturing a real challenge for global firms, when they have plants in other European locations. Without continued investment and confidence in the UK manufacturing sector, thousands of jobs across the country will be put at immediate risk.

As a cross-party group of MPs, business leaders and representatives, we are united in our determination that the UK must not crash out of the EU without a deal. We urge the Government to agree a mechanism that would ensure a ‘No Deal’ Brexit could not take place and are confident this is a path that Parliament would support.

Yours ever,

  • Jack Dromey MP
  • Rt. Hon. Dame Caroline Spelman MP
  • Rt. Hon. Caroline Flint, MP for Don Valley
  • Rt. Hon. Frank Field, MP for Birkenhead
  • Matt Western, MP for Warwick and Leamington
  • Rt. Hon. David Hanson, MP for Delyn
  • Mark Pawsey, MP for Rugby
  • Rt. Hon. Nicky Morgan, MP for Loughborough
  • Richard Graham, MP for Gloucester
  • Sir Roger Gale, MP for North Thanet
  • Bob Neill, MP for Bromley and Chislehurst
  • Paul Masterton, MP for East Renfrewshire
  • Heidi Allen, MP for South Cambridgeshire
  • Rt. Hon. Sir Nicholas Soames, MP for Mid Sussex
  • Anna Soubry, MP for Broxtowe
  • Antoinette Sandbach, MP for Eddisbury
  • Rt. Hon. Dominic Grieve QC, MP for Beaconsfield
  • Jeremy Lefroy, MP for Stafford
  • Jonathan Djanogly, MP for Huntingdon
  • Marcus Jones, MP for Nuneaton
  • Mark Garnier, MP for Wyre Forest
  • Sir Oliver Heald QC, MP for North East Hertfordshire
  • Darren Jones, MP for Bristol North West
  • Preet Gill, MP for Birmingham Edgbaston
  • Jim Cunningham, MP for Coventry South
  • Maria Eagle, MP for Garston and Halewood
  • Khalid Mahmood, MP for Birmingham Perry Barr
  • Ian Austin, MP for Dudley North
  • Alison McGovern, MP for Wirral South
  • Richard Burden, MP for Birmingham Northfield
  • Steve McCabe, MP for Birmingham Selly Oak
  • Chris Matheson, MP for City of Chester
  • Rt. Hon. Stephen Timms, MP for East Ham
  • Gareth Snell, MP for Stoke-on-Trent Central
  • Ruth Smeeth, MP for Stoke-on-Trent North
  • Dr. Roberta Blackman-Woods, MP for City of Durham
  • Julie Elliott, MP for Sunderland Central
  • Stephen Doughty, MP for Cardiff South and Penarth
  • Emma Reynolds, MP for Wolverhampton North East
  • Rt. Hon. Kevan Jones, MP for North Durham
  • Mike Amesbury, MP for Weaver Vale
  • Anna Turley, MP for Redcar
  • Sharon Hodgson, MP for Washington and Sunderland West
  • Colleen Fletcher, MP for Coventry North East
  • Helen Goodman, MP for Bishop Auckland
  • Rt. Hon. Mark Tami, MP for Alyn and Deeside
  • Rt. Hon. Liam Byrne, MP for Birmingham Hodge Hill
  • Justin Madders, MP for Ellesmere Port and Neston
  • Jon Cruddas, MP for Dagenham and Rainham
  • Madeleine Moon, MP for Bridgend
  • Roger Godsiff, MP for Birmingham Hall Green
  • Rt. Hon. Dame Margaret Hodge, MP for Barking
  • Chris Stephens, MP for Glasgow South West
  • Rt. Hon. Robert Goodwill, MP for Scarborough and Whitby
  • Bridget Phillipson, MP for Houghton and Sunderland South
  • Shabana Mahmood, MP for Birmingham Ladywood
  • Rt. Hon. Pat McFadden, MP for Wolverhampton South East
  • Paul Sweeney, MP for Glasgow North East
  • Rt. Hon. Tom Brake, MP for Carshalton & Wallington
  • Anneliese Dodds, MP for Oxford East
  • Gillian Keegan, MP for Chichester
  • Dame Louise Ellman, MP for Liverpool Riverside

Liked this story? Found it useful?
Heres what you can do next:

Support our magazine!       Support our writers!

Share this story on social media.

Creative Commons License

(Cover: Flickr/Number 10 - Number 10 front door. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.)