In a massive blow for many UK holidaymakers currently enjoying a holiday in France, the country of love and romance will be added to the list of ‘high risk’ countries from 4.00am on Saturday.

First published in August 2020.

The announcement, made yesterday, means that all but essential travel is now advised against and returning travellers will have to quarantine for 14 days.

France had previously been on the UK’s list of ‘travel corridors’, allowing unrestricted travel, but is now joined by the Netherlands, Malta, Monaco, the Turks & Caicos islands, and Aruba as one of the latest places to have this exemption removed.

With quarantine awaiting from the early hours of Saturday, there are reports of a scramble to return home before the new rules come into place.

In response last night, France’s secretary of state for European affairs Clement Beaune tweeted: A British decision which we regret and which will lead to reciprocal measures, hoping for a return to normality as soon as possible.”

After Spain, France is the second-most popular international destination for UK residents, over ten million of which visited the country in 2019.

Countries and territories for which non-essential travel is advised against for people in the UK. / Statista

[This piece was first published in Statista & written by Martin Armstrong, Data Journalist at Statista.]

(Cover: Shutterstock/Kichigin.)

PMP Magazine articles are FREE. Please do share this article widely.

Members of PMP Magazine read this article ONE HOUR before its publication. We call this “THE TIMEWALL”. If you too would like to receive all our articles in your inbox before everyone else, BECOME A MEMBER NOW!