As I regularly tweet about the misuse of taxpayers’ money by our government, imagine my surprise this morning when I found out that I have been blocked on Twitter by The Taxpayers’ Alliance.

First published in February 2021.

Lots of my tweets are about the misuse of taxpayers’ money by our government. So, imagine my surprise this morning to find that I am blocked by The Taxpayers’ Alliance (TPA).

This is a group that claims to represent “ordinary British taxpayers” fed up with tax waste.

The truth?

The TPA is a privately funded lobbying group based at the same Tufton Street address in Westminster that campaigns for:

  • Greater privatisation
  • Free market capitalism
  • Climate science denial
  • State reduction

They call themselves an “independent grassroots campaign”. BUT... in reality, they are bankrolled by overseas billionaires that we are not allowed to know about.

Why? To “respect their privacy”.

Which is why they are eerily silent on the BILLIONS wasted by our government on, say PPE.

And very vocal on:

  • Carbon tax rises
  • Corporation tax rises
  • BBC license price hikes

Do you see the direction of travel here?

Hardly grassroots.

In fact, they are one of 475 right-wing global firms promoting free, unregulated markets.

The best bit?

The TPA’s founder was also the founder of… VOTE LEAVE!

Vote Leave poster. | Geograph-Bob Harvey

... one Matthew Elliott!

And there is a whole other wild rabbit hole on him.


I wonder why they blocked me. 

Marina Purkiss, Political Campaigner and EMEA Program Lead for US tech firm.

[This piece was first published as a Twitter thread and turned into the above article on 17 February 2021 with the purpose of reaching a larger audience. It has been minorly edited and corrected, and published with the author’s consent. | The author of the tweets writes in a personal capacity.]

(Cover: Flickr/R4vi. - The main entrance to 55 Tufton Street, London, UK. A shared office space for a variety of lobbying organisations and think tanks. | 24 November 2018. / Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.)

Creative Commons License